About the Program

Design can change the world. As a member of the architecture and design community, you are the visionary—the creative problem solver who is constantly redefining the way we work, play, and organise our lives. The Shaw Contract Design Awards recognise amazing work and celebrate the design story behind each and every project. The reason is simple: if we are going to improve life for the better, we need to honour the people who rethink the very notion of what design is…

View the 2017 Market Award Winners >
View the 2017 Global Award Winners >


Category Winners represent the highest calibre of work within an industry segment across the globe. These winning projects will be automatically entered into the Global Awards program and People’s Choice voting.

The different segments include:

  • Healthcare
  • Education
  • Government
  • Retail + Hospitality
  • Large Office (greater than 4,645 m²)
  • Mid-Size Office (929 to 4,645 m²)
  • Small Office (less than 929 m²)


Global winners will be promoted in Shaw Contract marketing materials, media outreach, as well as an advertising campaign in leading A&D publications. Each winning firm will receive a Shaw Contract Design Awards sculpture to commend the achievement.

In appreciation of standout talent, we want to create an experience for the Design Awards program’s global winners. In 2018, two representatives from each winning firm will be invited (as guests of Shaw Contract) to experience Art Basel in Miami, USA. And, to continue their legacy by furthering design education around the globe, a $2,000 USD charitable donation will be awarded in the firm’s name to an organisation of its choice.

Winners are selected by a panel of judges with geographic and market segment diversity, as well as by the general public for the People’s Choice Award.


Since 2006, the Shaw Contract Design Awards (previously the Design Is…Awards) have helped build a lasting design legacy by making a charitable donation in each winning firm’s honour. To date, over $100,000 has been awarded to educational organisations. This year, the tradition lives on in the names of our global and people’s choice award winners.

View the list of organisations benefited to date >



The 2018 Shaw Contract Design Awards are open to all professional interior design firms, architectural firms, and end users. Projects must feature a Shaw Contract, Shaw Hospitality or Shaw Hard Surface as the predominant flooring in the space, and must have been completed between February 2016 and February 2018. All entries must submit high-resolution digital photography of the project. Entries are now open.

Enter your project